Welcome, Guest
Hackintosh
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Hackintosh

Hackintosh 11 years, 3 months ago #3593

Anyone ever made one?

Now that my days of university scholarship cash have come to an end and the latest Macs are getting less modifiable/repairable, I'm looking to have a machine that I can upgrade on my own schedule, and save a little money in the process.

I'm also looking to triple boot Ubuntu, Windows 7, and OS X, which should be fun.

I'd love to hear any stories of past experience. A friend of mine had one once, but that was ages ago so I imagine the 'scene' has expanded since.

Re: Hackintosh 11 years, 3 months ago #3594

I have built one, in fact my primary machine at home is a hackintosh and has been for about two years. It's a great way to save some money and get some cutting edge hardware, but you will burn lots and lots and lots of time tweaking it, getting frustrated, rebuilding, and reinstalling. After three months (being a high school teacher I had a bit of free time two summers ago) I was able to get my machine very nearly 100%. There are still some oddities with audio from the hackintosh mobo, which I've since replaced with a USB dongle.

My biggest recommendation is to do lots and lots of research. The best place I've found is tonymacx86, although there are some other good resources and some people dislike tonymacx86. They have some excellent Golden Build articles throughout the site and in the forums.

My current build is approaching two years old, here are the specs:

Asus P8P67 Pro mobo
Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz)
16GB RAM
Dual Radeon 6870s

I've upgraded the video cards to:

Dual GTX 680s

I've been very happy with the machine, overall cost initially was around $1000. I've probably put an additional $800 testing out various pieces and upgrading the video cards.