Welcome, Guest
Anyone else using Camino?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Anyone else using Camino?

Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2140

I'm sick of firefox bogging down my system, I hate safari and am seeking an alternative. I found Camino and so far so good. Thoughts, questions, who's using it?

Re:Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2141

I have never used Camino before but if you want another browser to try out get Google Chrome. I was sincerely impressed how that scrappy little guy works. Its still in beta but most of the functionality is there. Give 'er a go.

Re:Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2142

I use Camino, and I think I used Chrome for a bit. Two of the major reasons I use Camino is that it lets me yea/nea each cookie I get, and the handling of animated gifs isn't utterly ruined. Under Chrome you are using the WebKit handling (I believe), and some gifs are utterly ruined by that. I liked Chrome's handling of ad blocking, but when I switched back to Camino I installed GlimmerBlocker and I'm all set.

Re:Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2144

I tend to find Camino just as boggy as Firefox. I'm happy with Safari, though, so I haven't tried it in quite a while.

Re:Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2145

Caithness what exactly do you find boggy about it? I' running it on a intel and a g5 and so far no problems. What I like is they have two different optimized versions per chip. Perhaps I'm not seeing them or don't have some plugin installed. My wife uses chrome on her account and seems to love it I've played with it a bit but I find Camino to be even more lite weight. Does anyone have any other suggestions for lite fast browsers?
Last Edit: 13 years, 1 month ago by Pixelcade.

Re:Anyone else using Camino? 13 years, 1 month ago #2147

what is so "ruined" about the animated gif handling in WebKit? I didn’t see any problems yet.