Welcome, Guest
Help: Hex Editing Save States in Genesis Plus
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: Help: Hex Editing Save States in Genesis Plus

Help: Hex Editing Save States in Genesis Plus 13 years, 4 months ago #1945

I'm new to mac emulators and I could really use some help in trying to figure out how to hack into save states for genesis plus (for the matter - all mac emulator save states). I am trying to do the "the wacky adventures of rhys" hack for phantasy star 3 found on Hugues Johnson's website:

ps3.huguesjohnson.com/wacky.html

Any help in mac emulation would be greatly appreciated!

Re:Help: Hex Editing Save States in Genesis Plus 13 years, 4 months ago #1946

Here's the problem with savestates in regards to hacking like that webpage suggests: each emulator has their own way of making savestates. They are all completely incompatible with one another. Sometimes the Mac version of an emulator will have a different savestate format than the Windows version.

The webpage you linked us to REQUIRES you to use Genecyst (which in turn requires you to use Windows). There's no way around it.

Now, I'm not going to say it's impossible to do this using Genesis Plus. It's just highly unlikely for someone to figure this out because you need two pieces of information that I don't think anybody knows:
1 - what offset in savestates for Genecyst does the RAM start?
2 - what offset in savestates for Genesis Plus does the RAM start?
(I'm assuming the hacking the webpage is telling you to do is for the RAM.)

Even if you had these two pieces of information, you now have to deal with figuring out the new offsets for Genesis Plus (easy to do, but just time consuming to do the math).

Some of us here would be glad to help you hack savestates. That includes me, as I love doing it. However, I can't help you out any further than this. I'm just saying it's pretty unlikely.
Last Edit: 13 years, 4 months ago by Squirrel. Reason: I suck at grammar